Book Review · Books

18. “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close” by Jonathan Safran Foer

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

“Nine-year-old Oskar Schell is an inventor, amateur entomologist, Francophile, letter writer, pacifist, natural historian, percussionist, romantic, Great Explorer, jeweller, detective, vegan, and collector of butterflies. When his father is killed in the September 11th attacks on the World Trade Center, Oskar sets out to solve the mystery of a key he discovers in his father’s closet. It is a search which leads him into the lives of strangers, through the five boroughs of New York, into history, to the bombings of Dresden and Hiroshima, and on an inward journey which brings him ever closer to some kind of peace.”


Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is unlike anything I’ve read before, and I loved it.  I also fell in love with the character of the unique young boy, Oskar and his view of the world; Oskar made me laugh and he made me cry.  The people he came across in his search also made me have a little more faith in humanity because, like these people, there are people left on this earth that are truly kind and genuine.

The novel also made me think of those who were involved in the 9/11 attacks and those that lost their lives on that day.  This story really reminded me that you should treasure every day you have on this earth because you never know which day could be your last.  It also reminded me that you should never pass up an opportunity to say ‘I love you’ to someone.

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a well-written story, which is basically everyone, so everyone should read this book!

My Rating: 5/5 Stars

Leave a comment